There was a problem loading the comments.

Access File Manager

Support Portal  »  Knowledgebase  »  Viewing Article

  Print
DirectAdmin's file manager is not much different from other file managers. This file manager, much like others allows for the same utilities.

  • Create Files
  • Upload Files
  • Create Folders
  • Modify Permissions
  • Delete Files

This interface is capable of doing many things, including editing files for quick modifications.

This guide will be covering the general use of the File Manager.

Accessing File Manager


The file manager can be accessed by both the admin user and the individual users created for DirectAdmin

To access the File Manager you would go "System Info & Files > File Manager". This process is the same for both the Admin and user levels: the screenshot covers it from the user view.

Once You're on the File Manager Screen: You'll see that it's not much different from most file managers.

You have the following options available on this screen

  • Create Folder
  • Create File
  • Upload File


Deleting Files
In order to delete a file, we'll want to navigate to the public_html directory – you can click on it to enter into that directory.

Once inside, you'll see a layout of all the files within this directory.

You'll want to ensure the file(s) / folder(s) that you want to delete are checked (green check) – when it does, you'll see a black bar appear at the top with various options. We'll use the 'delete' option to remove the file.

You'll get a confirmation request, click 'Delete' and the file will be removed.

You can also click the folder for an alternative menu with various additional options

Changing Permissions

To change permissions of the folder, you'll want to ensure the file is checked (green check) – when it does, you'll see a black bar appear at the top with various options. We'll use the 'Change Permissions' one to adjust permissions.

You'll notice that the permissions are set to 000 – there are some circumstances where you may experience an issue with deletion, such as a folders permissions being set to 000.

This will help you fix that.

Permissions set the rights that a folder or file may have. These are broken down into three sections;

  • owner = file owner
  • group = owner's group
  • other = everyone else on the server
Which is given permissions by the following; read, write and execute.

We'll set it to 755 as that is the default permissions for folders.

This will make that folder and everything under it accessible again.

Click "Set" to change the permissions and you'll see the updated permissions!

Share via
Did you find this article useful?  

Related Articles

Categories

© Evolve Web Hosting, LLC